Kladdkaka and Other Excuses

As I was just looking at the blog, I realised that I have neglected to update it for the longest time. If anybody is interested, I have a long list of excuses. We had Deepawali, the festival of lights and I was busy making chocolates. Then came Vardha, the storm close on it’s heels. I spent the next couple of weeks clearing up the damage, rebuilding broken structures and fixing damaged cars. Then came the annual bake sale, which I decided to be a part of, more as a challenge to test my organising ability (and I must say, I was super happy with the way things turned out.)

Like this list is not enough, something wonderful happened a few weeks back. Josep Pascual was here and I managed to spend 4 days attending a workshop, watching the Master at work, baking alongside him and simply hoping that I would absorb some of his knowledge by osmosis. You don’t know who he is? I say, go google him before you proceed reading this post. Done? Now back to earth. Yes, I have been baking up a storm, bread, some cakes and tarts, and cookies. I faithfully recorded all this activity on my camera, transferred them to my laptop and deleted them on my SD card. When I sat down to write my post, I could not find a single photograph. They simply disappeared into cyberspace.

P_20170428_165115_SRES_1 (1)

So I am back with something I baked recently. A super simple chocolate cake decadent as it is tasty. It has been super hot the past few weeks, making it impossible to really bake much. My daughter who is on vacation refused to accept that heat can really be an excuse (I am yet to tell her all the other excuses that my imagination can conjure up). We chanced upon a photograph on Instagram, a dark chocolate cake with just a bit of oozy, gooey center to tantalize the sense. A little look into and we discovered it was called Kladdkaka, a Swedish chocolate cake which was a staple in most bakeries in that country. “I want that” my daughter declared. Secretly so did I. Further, I was running out of excuses. So it was back to the whisks and ladles.

P_20170430_091410_SRES

I was super happy that I did because what I got a cake which did not rise much (that’s ok) but a flavor so rich and a texture so awesome, that we both declared that it was well worth the effort ( which is not much, by the way). A delicious cross between a lava cake and brownie, you get a molten center and crusty edge. Now tell me who does not love that! Unlike most brownies, this recipe does not use chocolate, but just good cocoa. Make sure you use the best you can. It really does make a difference. Some experts say that the crust needs to crack like a brownie. Mine never did. Did it bother me? of course not. We just enjoyed it warm from the oven with a dusting of cocoa.

P_20170428_165014_SRES

Make sure that you do not over bake it if you want the soft center. It will be a flat cake. If you decide to use a smaller pan, the baking times could differ. You could, however, bake little individual portions and serve them with a scoop of your favorite ice cream. I used my supply of Valhrona cocoa to get that lovely dark colour. Your cake colour could differ based on the cocoa you use.

P_20170428_165032_SRES_1

INGREDIENTS

100 gms Unsalted Butter

200 gms Sugar

150 gms All Purpose flour

2 eggs

1 tsp Vanilla extract

3 Tbs cocoa (I used 3 1/2 and removed 1/2 tbs of flour)

1/4 to 1/2 tsp Salt

P_20170430_091907_DF_1

METHOD

  1. Grease and line an 8inch springform pan and preheat oven to 180 C
  2. Melt butter and allow to cool
  3. Whisk sugar and eggs until thick to a ribbon stage. Add vanilla
  4. Sieve cocoa, flour, and salt and fold into the egg and sugar mixture
  5. Add melted butter and mix till the mixture is smooth and the butter is incorporated
  6. Pour into the lined pan and bake for about 20 minutes. The center still needs to be soft and feel almost unset.
  7. Remove from the oven and cool a bit before unmoulding.
  8. Dust cocoa over the surface and slice and serve warm.
Leave a Reply

